CfP: Innovation in Music 2015 (Cambridge)

„Innovation in Music 2015“
7th-9th June 2015 – Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge, UK
Deadline: 10th April 2015
Keynotes: David Wrench, Peter Jenner, Tim Exile, Martin Walsh

Innovation in Music seeks to welcome academics, creatives, producers, artists, industry professionals and manufacturers to come together and submit abstracts or proposals for consideration on a wide range of topics including: Innovative Music Creation, Music Technology Innovation, Innovation in Music Business, Music Production — Past, Future and Present.

Authors can choose to submit either a Full Paper or a short Abstract. Abstracts of 300-500 words will be reviewed for inclusion in the conference programme. After the conference, presenting authors will be given the option to prepare a Full Paper for inclusion in the conference proceedings.

Authors may choose to submit a Full Paper of 6000-8000 words for the conference. Full Papers will be peer-reviewed by at least two referees. All papers must be of high quality, original and not published elsewhere or submitted for publication during the review period.

For full submission details of Abstracts and Full Papers, please see additional information at

Innovation in Music are also welcoming proposals for innovative, interactive demonstrations and performances appropriate to the conference scope. If you are interested in being involved in any way please contact us at:

Conference Scope


  • Innovative Music Creation
  • Technology Innovation
  • Music Production – Past, Future and Present
  • Innovation in Music Business
  • Knowledge Transfer between music industry and academia
  • Sound Engineering
  • Mastering
  • Post Production & Sound Design Innovation
  • Games Music and Sound Design
  • Performance and/or Composition, human and beyond

For the full scope, please see here:

Cross-Disciplinary topics are welcome


David Wrench: Mix engineer of two of 2014’s Mercury Music Award nominees – FKA Twigs’ LP1 and Jungle’s self-titled debut album – Music Production Keynote

Peter Jenner: Music business legend and former Pink Floyd manager — Industry Keynote

Tim Exile: Musician, inventor, composer, developer — Music Creation Keynote
Tim will provide both a talk and performance using modern approaches to music technology.

Martin Walsh, Vice President, Research & Development, DTS and inventor of Headphone:X — Technical Keynote

For biographies and keynote abstracts, please see here:

Special Sessions

Tim Exile will also be making a guest performance at the conference.

Special Music Industry and Technology Panel Session to be chaired by Paul Crick of IBM. More details to be announced soon.

Innovation In Music 2015 is pleased to be able to present a number of Special Sessions which include demonstrations of equipment, systems, processes and procedure all dealing with Innovation in our field. Please contact us should you have a proposal for this.

Innovation In Music and Music Tech Fest Partnership
Please see here for more information:

Dates and Deadlines

Submission of abstracts for consideration: 10 April 2015
Authors notified if abstract accepted or rejected: 17 April 2015
Early Registration – Authors expected to have registered and paid by this time: 1 May 2015
Upload of Files for Programme Deadline: 8 May 2015
Conference/Authors receive copy of all abstracts (in conference digest): 7-9 June 2015
Completed Paper submission deadline for inclusion in proceedings book: 31 July 2015

You can order the Innovation in Music 2013 proceedings here:


Innovation In Music 2015 is hosted by The Cultures of the Digital Economy Research Institute at Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge, UK. Cambridge is a city of excellence in arts and technology and is home to some of the world’s most successful innovators, including many in the audio, computing and games development industries.

Full venue and travel details can be found here:


General Conference Chair:
Dr. Rob Toulson
Anglia Ruskin University, UK

KES Executive Chair:
Prof. Robert J. Howlett
Bournemouth University & KES International

Co-Chairs and Innovation In Music Steering Committee:
Justin Paterson
London College of Music, University of West London, UK

Dr. Rob Toulson
Anglia Ruskin University, UK

Dr. Jay Hodgson
University of Western Ontario, Canada

Russ Hepworth-Sawyer
MOTTOsound & York St John University, UK

Dennis Collopy
University of Hertfordshire, UK

Further Information

You can also follow @InMusic_KES on Twitter for updates.

Innovation in Music 2015 is organised and managed by KES International ( All rights reserved by KES International. Apologies for cross posting.

%d Bloggern gefällt das: