Stipendium: Andrew Goodwin Memorial Prize

Andrew Goodwin Memorial Prize
Prize: £500
Deadline: 31 December 2014

Andrew Goodwin was a key figure in the development of popular music studies. His background was in media and cultural studies: he received his Ph.D. in Cultural Studies from the University of Birmingham and taught for many years in the Department of Media Studies at the University of San Francisco. He was a pioneer of the scholarly analysis of music video (in his book, Dancing in the Distraction Factory. Music Television and Popular Culture, for example, which drew on his previous work on television) and an astute critic of the use of postmodern theory in popular cultural studies. But his work also reflected his experiences as a working musician and critic (experiences explored in his entertaining Professor of Pop blog), and his articles on such topics as music technology and the concept of world music remain models of clear-eyed common sense and analytic insight, informed as much by practice as theory. As a teacher, colleague and friend, Andrew was an untiring source of ideas, enthusiasm and support, and his untimely death, in September 2013, was a huge loss to all of us in IASPM. The Andrew Goodwin Memorial Prize was established in 2014 as a fitting tribute to his generosity to younger scholars.

Aim: To promote popular music research and to support new scholars.
Eligibility: Postgraduate students who are currently registered at universities and colleges in the U.K. and Ireland and who are members of IASPM.
Awarded for: Essay of 3,000 to 4,000 words, on any aspect of popular music from any disciplinary perspective.
Prize: £500 and publication of the winning essay on the Andrew Goodwin Memorial Prize web page on the IASPM UK and Ireland website.
Dates: To be submitted by 31 December 2014. Decision announced 1st May following year. Prize awarded at IASPM-UK conference (and at IASPM international conference alternate years).
Panel of judges: The 2014-15 panel of judges is Matt Brennan, Sara Cohen, Simon Frith, and Sarah Hill.

Guidelines for submission:

Submissions should be in either a Microsoft Word (.doc or .docx) or .RTF document file format, with single-spaced, 11-point in Arial font text (quotations larger than 40 words indented, in 10-point text). PDF files cannot be accepted. All submissions should follow the Harvard Referencing Guide.

Essays should be submitted by 31 December 2014 to the following e-mail address:

For more information visit

%d Bloggern gefällt das: